But it’s faster this way …

As a guy who have studied in software engineering, for most of my family members and friends I’m the guy to call when anything breaks on your computer, even though I’m clueless about computer hardware. So one day someone asked me to come by and see what didn’t worked right on his machine. A website didn’t worked. So I asked him to show me that website. He booted his computer, opened a remote desktop connection to his office network, wait and opened Internet Explorer. I said that he could just use Internet Explorer directly in his start menu. He tried clicking on the Start Menu and then on the Applications sub menu several times, with no success. The drop down Application menu kept disappearing because the mouse pointer did not follow the path of the menu box. He finally conclude that his way was faster.

Some people might argue that doing things the wrong way is faster.

Sure it’s faster, if you do it like that all the time!

4 Comments

Filed under Misc

4 responses to “But it’s faster this way …

  1. Hehe… well, it looks like some people don’t want to learn new tricks at all.

    Good one =)

  2. Working with ugly code, not writing test, not deploying in one step all different things people have told me to be faster while they knew it was the wrong way.

    Have you ever eared that kind of things too ?

    Thanks for the comment Frank!

  3. Are you talking about those who are not able to admit that the way they work is not perfect? Hell yeah I heard a lot of people saying that kind of things.

    That’s another “too big ego” issue I think. We all hate to realize we’re not “cutting edge” and it’s easy to say that these new technologies/tools we don’t know about suck instead of trying them for real and change our working habits.

    It’s ok to have bad working habits… as long as we try to eradicate them once we know that they are bad (or that there exists something better).

    I’m sure there are still a lot of people who resist using a version control tool saying that is useless just because they don’t want to admit they are late to join the party. What’s the problem? I WAS late to join the party when I started using it. A friend of mine told me back then that it was a must and that I couldn’t really continue to work without it if I wanted to be serious about developing an application. I listened to him, I learned to work with SVN and I couldn’t live without it now.

  4. I agree, you cannot learn everything at once or expect anyone to be the best at everything, but still everyone should always aim to fix our bad practices!

    But how many time do you go trough so old code with its author and ask him why he did this the wrong way like this? And the answer is: I didn’t had time to fix it. I think that this is intellectual laziness. Refactoring your code is easy, there is no reason on earth we keep bad code in our app for so long. But again, if your code is fragile and you’re not backed by any test you’re horrified to touch it! That’s a vicious loop.

    Thanks for the reply Frank!

Leave a Reply

