Linkr, the host it yourself link sharing site

Are you using e-mail to share links with your friends and coworkers ? Soooooo 2006 !

But you don’t want to use digg, reddit or delicious because you want to keep it private and pertinent. Sadly none of these are open-source.

Enter Linkr!

Linkr is…

  1. built on Camping, the 4K framework by _why
  2. open source
  3. about 400 LOC, so easy to hack
  4. easy to install
  5. tag, rss, ajax buzzword compliant
  6. easy to use (has a one-click-submit shortcut that you can put in your toolbar)
  7. relying on your own Apache/LDAP/Whatever authentication (no extra login)
  8. cool because I said so!!!

Quick install

gem install camping --source http://code.whytheluckystiff.net
svn co http://code.macournoyer.com/svn/linkr/trunk linkr
cd linkr
rake server

Installing with FastCgi is pretty easy too, check the README file.

Happy Linkr-ing!

[EDIT] Due to popular request (heri), a demo version is now live at http://linkr.macournoyer.com. But it runs on CGI, so super slow, I didn’t manage to install it with FastCGI on my DreamHost account. But I swear, It was a lot easier on our dedicated StandoutServer™ with the one line ScriptAlias directive! Plus, note that because it’s designed to be used in your intranet there’s no login page, it usually uses Apache environment variable to set the current user, so the demo version will stay as anonymous.

16 Comments

Filed under ruby

16 responses to “Linkr, the host it yourself link sharing site

  1. err… why don’t you host it on linkr.macournoyer.com for us to try?

  2. All right, I’ll try to set this up later this week. But there’s no authentication builtin Linkr, it uses Apache environment variable for getting the username. I don’t know how I can tweak this for a public site.

    The fact that it uses Apache authentication make it easier to integrate into your own intranet!

  3. ok – you should post something on twitter when it goes live. i’d like to write something about code.macournoyer.com on MTW

  4. almost working on http://linkr.macournoyer.com , I’m having some troubles with rewriting and FastCGI, ah shared hosting! I’ll fix this later tonight

  5. What about Mongrel? I abandoned (Fast)CGI a year ago and haven’t looked back.

  6. How can I set this up on shared hosting ? I don’t think DreamHost allow ProxyPass in .htaccess files

  7. Pingback: A Look into Open Source in Montreal | Montreal Tech Watch

  8. Pingback: Marc-André Cournoyer|Triabulle

  9. hi this is kolam, rangoli, rangoli design,rangoli pattern, rangoli kolam, diwali rangoli,flower rangoli,muggulu, rangavalli,Tamil Kolam, Indian Kolam, Kolams for festivals, Kolams for various occasions,pongal kolam designs,pongal kolam, history of kolam, kolam significance,design, dots, lines, curves, powder, lime, chalk, stone, rock, rice, turmeric, flowers, floral, birds, animals, idols, gods, swan, peacock, sparrow, crow, ducks, butterfly, butterflies, bird, animal, elephant, cow, deer, lotus, rose, sunflower, daisies, lamp, lamps, diyas, agals, flame, conch, conches, shells, star, stars, sun, moon, geometric.

  10. A new approach is needed, one which provides a general solution both for
    future devices and the full range of existing devices, and this is what Responsive Web Design achieves.

  11. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep
    it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a terrific web site.

  12. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick question
    which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your
    mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in
    getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just
    trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
    Appreciate it!

  13. If some one wants expert view concerning blogging then
    i propose him/her to go to see this weblog, Keep up the nice work.

  14. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

  15. oli

    Why not have at look at http://linkr.it? Dont know if its the same as this, but its a Social Network Sharing site – Thanks

  16. Wow! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different subject but
    it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

