Getting MonoRail closer to Rails again

In a previous post I’ve bloged about the scaffold generator for Castle MonoRail. And now it’s time for the fully-packed-turbo-ultra-cool MonoRail project generator. Just type generate project MyProject (or make a link for monorail like in the vid).

Some people won’t like the directory structure I’ve used, which is inspired by Rails ratter then by Visual Studio. I find it more secure, more structured and more fun. If you want to argue on this, please do in this post comments! this is a work in progress and I’m pretty open to constructive suggestions and comments.

As usual : watch it live!!!

This work is not complete! If you intend to use it, you understand that this is an alpha release. The source is at http://svn.castleproject.org/svn/castlecontrib/generator/trunk.

If someone is interested in adding Visual Studio support just contact me by email.

4 Comments

Filed under Generator, Monorail

4 responses to “Getting MonoRail closer to Rails again

  1. Holy flying elephants!

    This is cool. It’s also creepy, seeing .NET (especially Castle) development using TextMate. :) I can’t believe the console and server. I’m glad you have the time to do this – this is where I wanted MonoRail to go all along but Hammett is not a Rails fanboy like I am.

  2. MAC

    Thanks a lot Kevin

  3. Anonymous

    How much C# development are you doing with it? Do you spend a lot of time with Mono or traditional .NET framework stuff (windows)?

    I’ve got a macbook and I’m finding that since most of my bread and butter is Microsoft development I wouldn’t really use OS X that much.

    That being said the macbook has been a HUGE distraction for me, it’s awesome to use and OS X rocks, it makes me spend more time wanting to do different development (not .NET related).

  4. MAC

    I work with .NET 2.0. But at home I code in ruby, python, boo and c# on Mono.

    I’m trying to port my c# developpement to Mac OS X as a challenge more then as a necessity. Plus with all the positive feedback I get from my C# project I can only go on.

    I can’t hide that if everything was to be done again, I’d code NProject in ruby.

Leave a Reply

